Archive for July 20th, 2010

July 20, 2010

R/V/GF/SF Pecan Pie Cookies + Variations

Hey there food-lovers! It’s another beautiful (read: freezing) day in my town, and since the weather has been so gloomy, it’s been perfectly appropriate to stay indoors and make delicious foods.

Here is a recipe for Pecan Pie Cookies from one of my favourite cookbooks, “Ani’s Raw Food: Desserts”. This woman is a genius and I HIGHLY reccommend adding this gem to your cookbook hall of fame! It’s in my top five favourite cookbooks thus far =D

AniPhyo

PECAN PIE COOKIES

Place one cup raw pecan nuts, one cup dates (I always use pitted!!), one tablespoon fresh orange juice from a fresh orange and one teaspoon of ground cinnamon in a food processor and blend until it forms a sticky crumble, like so:

almondanddateballs

Form mixture into balls and place on a tray lined with baking paper. Press down on balls so they look like cookies.

COOKIESEE

These keep in the fridge for about seven days, or in the pantry for about four. I like to keep them in the fridge for the first 24 hours to firm up a little, and then store in the pantry. If it were summer I would keep them in the fridge all the time or they might become too soft.

VARIATIONS

These are *easy* to mix up. Sometimes I make them with almonds, as pecans are far more expensive.
You can roll these in shredded coconut and replace the orange juice with vanilla essence.

datealmondballs

These are one of my staple recipes. They are ridiculously easy to make and are so full of goodness. I usually whip up some almond/date/cinnamon balls for breakfast. They also make perfect snacks on the go!

^_^