Fig Tartlets with Frangipane Kream GF/V/SF/R

Wow! Okay. So this is the first of Ani’s recipes that has not worked out for me even when I modified the recipe a little. It could be for a number of reasons, but all I am going to say is that if I were to make these again, I would add dates to the crust recipe. See my note below for more info.
I had to make these in a cupcake tin with liners as I had no tartlet or brioche cups on hand.

CRUST

Take 2/3 cups dry walnuts and pulse together with 2 teaspoons agave. Be sure NOT to over process as you don’t want to make a butter.

DSC01075

Note: For my improvised crust, I would use dates and walnuts and alternate until the consistency is similar to that of the cheezecake recipe I posted a few entries ago.

Press the mixture into liner/tartlet/brioche cup and put in the fridge to firm up while you make the filling.

DSC01078

FILLING

Take one and a half cups of figs and remove all the hard stems. If you don’t know what that is, it’s the hard pokey bit shown in the pic below.

DSC01085

Combine in a food processor with 1 tbsp orange zest, 1 tbsp vanilla essence and 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon.

DSC01090

Put between 1 to 3 tablespoons of mixture into each tartlet (depending on how many you made.)

DSC01097

TOPPING

Note: You’re meant to make half this recipe for the tartlets, but I’ll give you the original measurements just in case!

Combine 1 cup almonds, 1 cup water, 2 tbsp agave, and 1 tsp vanilla extract and blend in a food processor for a few minutes until thick and creamy. I had to add an extra 1/2 cup almonds as the mixture was too watery.

DSC01098

Serve with a dollop almond kream. Tartlets on their own should keep for about a week in the fridge.

DSC01101

Leave a Reply

