Carrot Raisin Spicies V/GF

These are some of the best cookies of life. I made them for a friend at TAFE once and she begged me to make them again every time I saw her for two terms. Last week I made an enormous double batch and everybody in my course went nuts over them. They’ve been begging me for the recipe ever since.

So, here it is! Another gem from “Vegan Cookies invade your Cookie Jar”

Note: Since I made a double batch of these, don’t stress if your dough looks different to mine!

DSC01873

For a double batch I only had to use 2 and a half of these carrots. Keep that in mind!

CARROT RAISIN SPICE CHEWIES

Preheat oven to 160 degrees celcius and line two baking sheets with baking paper.

DSC01872

In a large bowl, beat together 1/3 cup nondairy milk, 1/2 cup canola or peanut oil (I NEVER use canola oil, most of my cookies are made with olive oil but if I’d had some nearby, I would have gladly used peanut oil), 1/3 cup dark brown sugar, 1 cup granulated sugar (I always use raw sugar), 1.5 tsp vanilla essence and 1/2 tsp finely shredded orange zest.

DSC01876

Sift in 1 3/4 cups flour (again, I used orgran gluten free plain flour), 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp ground ginger, 1.5 tsp ground cinnamon and 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg.

Stir to moisten ingredients.

DSC01877

Fold in 1 cup finely grated carrots, 1/2 cup shredded coconut, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and 1 cup raisins.

The dough will be quite thick and sticky. If you feel it’s TOO runny then stir through a little more flour.

DSC01879

Drop generous tablespoons of dough onto the sheets, about one inch apart. If you want to smooth them down with your hands, do so, but you may need to put some oil on your fingers so the dough doesn’t stick too much.

Note: If you just drop the dough on and leave it as it is, you’ll get spikier, rougher cookies as all the nuts and carrots and stuff will make the surface lumpier. If you flatten them slightly and make them look rounder, they will come out cuter… but it REALLY won’t affect the taste ❤

DSC01883

Bake the cookies for 14 to 16 minutes until lightly brown on the edges and firm on the tops. You want these to stay soft so DON’T over-bake! If they are firm and have golden edges then you’re done.

DSC01884

Enjoy! These are absolutely delicious.

Leave a Reply

