Cauliflower Fried “Rice”! V/GF

Since I learned I can no longer eat rice (I wept many times. I am, after all, the Risotto Queen. /sigh) I found this recipe! It really does taste like fried rice… but less oily and it’s all vegetables. I’m in awe of it. If I weren’t so full right now I would sit down and eat the whole pot. I feel that this amount serves three for a decent meal, but the original recipe (which surprisingly came from a Tony Ferguson diet cookbook) says it serves four.

It’s simple to whip up and oh so delicious.

Cauliflower Fried “Rice”

Cut up 500g cauliflower into evenly sized pieces and wash. (I used a whole head and once I cut off the leaves it weighed exactly 500g. Nifty!)

DSC04155

Place in a food processor and pulse until it resembles rice.

DSC04156

Dice 3 spring onions, mince 2 cloves garlic and grate 2cm fresh ginger.

DSC04158

Slice 100g green beans into small pieces (approx 1cm) and dice 1/2 red capsicum.

DSC04160

Heat 1 tbsp oil in a wok or large saucepan and sautee onion, garlic and ginger until fragrant.

DSC04162

Add the cauliflower, beans and capsicum and stir until the mixture turns a light golden colour (a few minutes).

DSC04163

Add 1 tbsp gluten free soy sauce and stir through. Add pepper to taste.

DSC04164

Cook until cauliflower is tender. Stir through 1/4 cup chopped coriander and serve! šŸ˜€

DSC04165

4 Comments to “Cauliflower Fried “Rice”! V/GF”

  1. Hey Neko, just stumbled across your site and love the look of this “rice” (plus all of your other scrummy recipes – I could spend all night here drooling!) I have Hashimoto’s disease which is apparently caused by long term undiagnosed gluten intolerance (needless to say I can not eat anything even slightly gluten-related, including oats *sniff*) and am wondering if your sensitivity to real rice is related to gluten intolerance also? I only ask because I’ve always been under the assumption that rice was ok due to literature I’ve read on diet related illnesses but have been a little suspicious of it thanks to a few coincidental reactions myself šŸ˜„

    • Hey lady! Thanks for the kind words, so glad you’re appreciating the site! šŸ™‚
      I unfortunately have yet to learn what is happening with my body. Anything starchy or carby sets off my stomach, as well as gluten, wheat, yeast and dairy. I’m basically down to fruit, veg, nuts, soy milk/yoghurt and seafood, which is really frustrating for me. I will continue to update with recipes that I am able to eat and expand on information that I stumble across along the way. I now have a new disease to look at with my doctor! Keep in touch, and if I find anything rock solid about the rice I will let you know.
      PS: No more oats for me, either!

      • Sweet! I’ll keep checking back reguarly!
        Hmmm, your issues with food sound totally similar to mine and I’m still somewhat in the “investigation” period regarding what affects me and how and I have LOTS of symptoms to investigate lol (sometimes feel like people see me as a hypochondriac – even embarrassed talking to my doc occasionally about my many “complaints” :/). Auto-immune stuff is def something you need to keep an eye on considering the sensitivities you have. Took me years to get a correct diagnosis after 32 years of gluten abuse šŸ™‚ and even that first came from a naturopath who had her suspicions about my ailments. Many docs just don’t investigate far enough when it comes to food intolerances and the subsequent havoc they wreak on the rest of your system. Thankfully I have found an awesome GP to help me deal with it all (again, thanks to a referral from my naturopath)! If you have any questions yourself about it, I’d be happy to chat to you…you can hit me up on facebook if you like http://www.facebook.com/people/Rachael-Madden/687053945
        Take care sweetie and good luck!

      • Thank you for all of the info love! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

